Manifesto

VALUES

We were put in groups and told to write a list of things that we love, I found that I love many things.

IMG_0037

We then made other list to do with loves and hates specifically as a graphic designer. These were my top 5.

IMG_0039

We were given these sheets in a session with the brief bits of information on each category we were asked to number them from 1-10 1-being the most important and 10- being the least important.

IMG_0035

We were then given this sheet which broke down each category and showed each of there main characteristics. This made  it a lot clearer for me and suddenly my number were changing around as these characteristics brought a different meaning to each category.

IMG_0036

We could then use the chart to see which group we would fit into. It was all very interesting.

IMG_0040

So I started to make a list of questions I was inspired to do so by a power-point I was shown that included Thomas Heatherwick’s work and the way he asked the question ‘What if’. So I started writing a question and then another question would pop into my head.

Thomas Heatherwick asked what If two ends of a bridge could touch and then made an amazing bridge that did that, if he never asked the question he would have never explored it and found a way for it to happen.

ImageImage

QUESTIONS

What If?

What are grades? A piece of paper? Do they matter now?

Do you own your own devices or do they own you?

Where do you put your time?

Is time precious?

If you had one day left to live what would you do? Where would you go? Who would you spend it with?

Do you value life?

What’s your purpose?

Limits- Do you limit yourself? What are your limitations? What are limitations? Who puts limits in place?

Why are there rules? Rule breakers? Actions have consequences?

Actions affecting people. Pay it forward. What if everyone did something nice for someone?

Christian Values- 10 Commandments, Rules or guidelines? Helpful or restricting? Free will or control. Jesus vs Religion. Stereotypes? Sinner vs Saint? Good vs Evil? Heaven vs Hell?

Is a mistake really a mistake?

What if there was no sound?

What if there were only questions and no answers?

What if there was no solution?

Why do we need details?

If there is a beginning does there have to be an end?

What if you wrote with paper instead of a pen?

What if communication was lost or taken away?

What if nothing ever changed?

What if we were all the same?

What happens when people ask the right questions?

What happens when people ask the wrong questions?

What if nobody asked anything?

What if we are being told lies?

What if rules are just a test?

What if life is just a test?

What if people could see what you are thinking?

What if people knew your secrets?

Deception?

What’s the thing in ‘nothing’?

What if death didn’t kill you?

What if people never learnt from lessons?

What if people told you how they really felt instead of the british “I’m Fine”

What if procrastination didn’t exist?

What if luck is a myth?

What is good?

What is bad?

What is nothing?

What is everything?

Who are you designing for/ against?

How can I contribute as a designer?

What ids my intent?

Not just talking about it but making it, putting thoughts into paper cutting thoughts out of paper.

creating possibilities.

design creating emotion

making people think differently.

I like the questions but still not sure what I could do with them or how they could be a part of my manifesto or if they could be a part of it?

PAPER CUTTING MANIFESTO 

IMG_0033

I really enjoy paper cutting so I was going to base my manifesto things like –

What if you wrote with paper instead of a pen? And cutting thoughts out of paper. I then had the idea of using the phrase cut it out and it could have a double meaning and I found the thought of that really interesting. But then I spoke to Joanna about it and she was like but cut what out? And I was like hmmm paper? And something else but I don’t know what… I had to think about it for a while but then I cam up with some other things you could cut out…

–       Paper

–       Attitude

–       Anything

–       Everything

–       What you do/don’t need

–       Words

Turns out you can cut out a lot of things and the list could go on. I left the options including open ones like anything and everything because I don’t want to take the decision into my own hands and just put my own opinion because there are lots of opinions at then end of the day there wouldn’t be a wrong or specifically right answer if you get what I’m saying? So yeah Cut it out! haha

IMG_0060Amalie Borg

She did a theory based vis com course. She says she designs with a purpose and there has to be a meaning. She applies practical to theory. The manifesto is dead. Can theory and practice work together? Her definition of a Manifesto- feeds into public and public feeds into manifesto. I find this important as although my manifesto is about me it need to be able to build a connection to other people. What is the use if it means something to me and nothing to anybody else? What is the point if only I can understand it?  If only I understand then surely it should just be kept to myself? But at the same time if you work has no meaning to you how can others find meaning in it? I want people to be able to connect with my work as much as I do, to get something from it or to be a part of it. Its finding the right balance of give and take. She says a manifesto is a public declaration and it uses strong language to evoke change. A manifesto addresses wider issues and is a documentation of ideology.  She said “the author should be taken out of the writing so the writing speaks for itself.” I think this is important that it speaks for itself without needing to be thoroughly explained.  To manifest is to break out.

ImageImageImage

 MINI TUTORIAL AND NEW IDEAS

I spoke to James about my questions and he said he really liked them and that my manifesto could just be all the questions.  I then started thinking about the question idea.

Here are some of my thoughts

– Thinking about questions people don’t really ask.

-Formats where questions might exist

-Questionnaires -Q+A cards -Quiz’s -Games/Trivia -Game shows- Blankety Blank, Family fortunes, Weakest Link -Jokes

– The idea of a game with no winner.

-Other people deciding on the answers.

-Filling in the blanks?

Having different options/ Having a choice.

A

B

C

D

OR

1

2

3

4

Tick boxes []  []   []  []  []  []

Yes or No?

✓  or   ✗

THOUGHTS FOR FINAL IDEA

Then I had the idea of what if a question only led to another question and not an answer?

So I decided to add more questions to my list of questions.

TUTORIAL 1

Then I had a group tutorial and I got some really good suggestions and ideas from that.

Idea 1– a question box with question cards that are double sided (question leading to another question) I really like this idea because the cards could be reused and the order of the cards can be changed. This means that the questions could go on forever and I like the idea of that.

Brian Eno- Oblique Strategies

The Oblique Strategies are a selection of over 100 cards that pose dilemmas. These cards were produced through thinking about approaches to Brian Eno’s and Peter Schmidt’s own work as artist and musician.

The Oblique Strategies used to only come as a deck of cards in a small black box but now you can access digital versions.

ImageImage

“These cards evolved from our separate working procedures. It was one of the many cases during the friendship that he [Peter Schmidt] and I where we arrived at a working position at almost exactly the same time and almost in exactly the same words. There were times when we hadn’t seen each other for a few months at a time sometimes, and upon re-meeting or exchanging letters, we would find that we were in the same intellectual position – which was quite different from the one we’d been in prior to that.

The Oblique Strategies evolved from me being in a number of working situations when the panic of the situation – particularly in studios – tended to make me quickly forget that there were others ways of working and that there were tangential ways of attacking problems that were in many senses more interesting than the direct head-on approach. If you’re in a panic, you tend to take the head-on approach because it seems to be the one that’s going to yield the best results Of course, that often isn’t the case – it’s just the most obvious and – apparently – reliable method. The function of the Oblique Strategies was, initially, to serve as a series of prompts which said, “Don’t forget that you could adopt *this* attitude,” or “Don’t forget you could adopt *that* attitude.” Brian Eno

Idea 2-  Magazine question diagram for eg. What type of person are you? You follow the diagram down answering yes or no but the chart that leads to no answer. It would mean it would be in a form and be less of a mess.

I came across this cool yes or no chart which challenges the idea of if you should work for free or not. I found this really interesting and had a go at doing it for a laugh.

Image

http://shouldiworkforfree.com/

Advice- Don’t make it too complex.

THOUGHTS

What? Why? How? Who? Where?

Never stop asking questions.

Sometimes you need to just stop and ask questions. Stop to think. Sometimes there are many answers to find other times the answer cannot be found… In the end you are always left with your own opinion, which is unique.

Sometimes its best to ask the simple questions.

Asking not what should be but what could be.

Encouraging childlike curiosity. Looking at things from a child’s perspective.

Maybe it’s just as fun not knowing the answers….. And just asking the questions?

Question everything- don’t rely on the facts.

The question what if? Adds value through creative thinking. It’s thought provoking, questioning and childlike.

“Eventually everything connects – people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se.” Charles Eames

QUESTIONS PART 2

I kept writing and everyday I would think of some more questions to add to my list. Now I am left with 103 questions… I was going to do 100 but then I thought nah that’s too normal, I’ll be a bit different.

  1. What If?
  2. What are grades?
  3. Are grades just a piece of paper?
  4. Do grades matter now?
  5. Do you own your own devices or do they own you?
  6. Where do you put your time?
  7. Is time precious?
  8. If you had one day left to live what would you do, where would you go and whom would you spend it with?
  9. Do you value life?
  10. What’s your purpose?
  11. Do you limit yourself?
  12. What are your limitations?
  13. What are limitations?
  14. Who puts limits in place?
  15. Why are there rules?
  16. Why are there rule breakers?
  17. What happens when you break the rules?
  18. Do actions have consequences?
  19. What if everyone did something nice for someone?
  20. Are rules or guidelines helpful or restricting?
  21. Is a mistake really a mistake?
  22. What if there was no sound?
  23. What if there were only questions and no answers?
  24. What if there was no solution?
  25. Why do we need details?
  26. If there is a beginning does there have to be an end?
  27. Is the middle the best part of the story?
  28. What if you wrote with paper instead of a pen?
  29. What if communication was lost or taken away?
  30. What if nothing ever changed?
  31. What if we were all the same?
  32. What happens when people ask the right questions?
  33. What happens when people ask the wrong questions?
  34. What if nobody asked anything?
  35. What if we are being told lies?
  36. What if rules are just a test?
  37. What if life is just a test?
  38. What if people could see what you are thinking?
  39. What if people knew your secrets?
  40. What if everything was simple?
  41. What’s the thing in ‘nothing’?
  42. What if death didn’t kill you?
  43. What if people never learnt from lessons?
  44. What if people told you how they really felt instead of the british “I’m Fine”
  45. What if procrastination didn’t exist?
  46. What if luck is a myth?
  47. What is good?
  48. What is bad?
  49. What is nothing?
  50. What is everything?
  51. Who are you designing for/ against?
  52. How can I contribute as a designer?
  53. What is my intent?
  54. Can design create possibilities?
  55. Can design create emotion?
  56. Can you make people think differently?
  57. What would you risk your life for?
  58. What if the dots never connected? –  Inspired by Charles Eames “Eventually everything connects- people, ideas, objects. The quality of connections is key per se.”
  59. Cut it out?
  60. Where would you rather be?
  61. Where are you going?
  62. Where have you been?
  63. Where are you now?
  64. What if you can change your future?
  65. What if you can change the future?
  66. Can you make a difference?
  67. Will you make a difference?
  68. What if dreams do come true?
  69. What if seeing is believing?
  70. What if seeing isn’t believe?
  71. If you couldn’t see what would you believe?
  72. What if all problems were unsolvable?
  73. What if every meaning was hidden?
  74. What does meaning mean?
  75. What if there is no meaning?
  76. Would puzzles be fun if you knew all the answers?
  77. How can you work things out?
  78. What if you always avoided questions?
  79. What if there is another way to look at things?
  80. What if you turned things upside-down?
  81. What happens when you flip things over?
  82. What if theory didn’t explain?
  83. What if you don’t connect?
  84. What if the connection is lost?
  85. What if everyone agreed?
  86. What if everyone had the same opinion?
  87. What if adverts didn’t advertise?
  88. What if posters didn’t go on posts?
  89. What if photos were never taken?
  90. What if printers didn’t print?
  91. What if designers didn’t design?
  92. What if artists didn’t make art?
  93. What if reality isn’t real?
  94. What if there is no point?
  95. Why does a pullet have a point?!?
  96. When the point is taken why are you left with a line?
  97. Is it more dangerous to think inside the box?
  98. What happens when you think outside the box?
  99. Why do children always ask why?
  100. Is solving a brief answering a question?
  101. What does anything mean if it has no meaning?
  102. If you could ask one question what would it be?
  103. Why are there 103 questions?

I finished the question with question 103 and three because I thought it was important to question why I was questioning.

DADA MANIFESTO

TRISTAN TZARA “Dada Manifesto 1918”

I have taken out what I found some of the key/most interesting bits of this manifesto.

“And so Dada was born of a need for independence, of distrust toward unity. Those who are with us preserve their freedom. We recognize no theory.”

I find it interesting that they recognize no theory it was all about breaking the rules and that’s kind of what I’m trying to do with the question cards with them having no answers.

“Philosophy is the question: from which side shall we look at life, God, the idea or other phenomena. Everything one looks at is false. I do not consider the relative result more important than the choice between cake and cherries after dinner. The system of quickly looking at the other side of a thing in order to impose your opinion indirectly is called dialectics, in other words, haggling over the spirit of fried potatoes while dancing method around it.”

I like how they are questioning things in this manifesto just like I am in mine. Some bits of this manifesto don’t make any sense though like the spirit of the fried potato… what is that about? But I like how it’s saying there are different ways to look at things and that’s how I’d like people to approach the questions.

“There is no ultimate Truth. The dialectic is an amusing mechanism which guides us / in a banal kind of way / to the opinions we had in the first place.”

People are always searching for the truth (the answers) sometimes it’s good to try and figure it out yourself.

“Logic imprisoned by the senses is an organic disease.”

Could people just read the questions without trying to answering them in their head? Because logic tells you to answer the questions. It’s printed into you the whole time you are growing up taking test and answer those questions in order to be graded. People want to try there best. Want to answer the question correctly but with my questions you can’t really be wrong.

The __________ Manifesto. Michael Betancourt, 1996.

postmodernmanifesto1

I really like this manifesto as it gives the user an opportunity to input and interact and make it personal to them. It also means that the manifesto continually changes. My manifesto is similar to this as it has gaps, not a physical gap to write down but more of a mental gap in your head that will get you thinking. Using the brain as a tool.

Making Final Manifesto

SHEETS TO PRINT TOGETHER 1+2, 3+4, 5+6, 7+8, 9+10, 11+12, 13+14. DOUBLE SIDED = 7 SHEETS OF PAPER

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 23.13.24

I colour coordinated so that each question comes in two’s one question for each side of the card and I wrote which sheet they would be on.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 23.16.53

Testing out different fonts… I decided to go with a new font I downloaded called Sail but I really didn’t like the ? that came with it so I used another font for that.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 23.17.11

Making different backing stamp block like things for the letter Q to be cut out of. I decided to go for the bottom design as it reminded me of a mix between a stamp and a key on a computer. I created the Q myself by cutting and pasting different bits of other Q’s and other shapes and swirls.

Q&a

When I was in New York I purchased a Q&A a day 5 year journal which is awesome! I’m really enjoying filling it in! The border around the edge of this journal inspired the border I made below.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 23.17.48

I wasn’t sure whether I should go for Q&Q so it was like Q&A or just Q on it’s own but when I put my thoughts down to paper I decided that Q looked better and more bold on it’s own.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 23.18.21

The Final Template of the cards.

FINAL MANIFESTO

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Leave a Reply

